Let’s talk process

When I went to start turning my meager little script into a spoken language, I had to first determine what it is that i wanted kardak to sound like. In my conworld, fire plays an especially significant role in the everyday lives and culture of those who speak it so I wanted to pay homage to that in a few subtle ways. First, Kardak is a compound word meaning flame tongue, made up of the two words karthir (flickering flame) and dach (tongue). Second, the script is called le’hado or whisper since the basic philosophy was originally to make it sound like it was created from the various sounds and whispers that accompany a burned fire. This may sound simple to some, but there is also one little extra aspect to this. My family lineage is Norse. My ancestor Grimbaldus was company to Eric the red, so I did want to give kardak a hint of north Germanic old Norse in tribute to that association, but only in small hints. What I ended up with was something that sounded like a hybrid of old Norse and parseltongue. It seems to have taken on a life of its own and continues to evolve almost daily. Now, in practice, Kardak can at time seem a little longwinded, but is only because it lacks some of the simple colloquialisms of the English language. First and foremost, I am not a linguist and have no linguistic training whatsoever, but I have learned a few things from some of the most brilliant language creators and experimental linguists anywhere in our conlangs group on Facebook ( https://www.facebook.com/groups/conlangs/ ) I am an artist that is in love with his creation. Kardak is not only my baby, but it is a completely a priori conlang, meaning it doesn’t have its roots in any natural language in either vocabulary or structure. I am very well pleased with the direction that the language is going and one day hope to teach others. As a side note, I was also considering posting the kardak lexicon here as well as the accociated IPA charts. Feel free to ask any questions that you might have. I’d be glad to even translate people’s names into kardak’s le’hado script if that’s what you want. Thank you for your support.. -Mike

©2014 TMBacon/MB247Press/TheScribblersNook®

Leave a Reply

