Kardak Verb Structures

Kardak has some pretty cool verb structures. For more passive verb usage (see Charts:Sentence structure), Kardak uses a Subject Verb Object Destination structure with all the little bells and whistles in between. When we are using a more active verb structure, or one where someone or something is directly doing something to someone or something else, the verb structure get more intense, it becomes a Destination Object Verb Subject structure…but WAIT!!! It gets so much cooler than that. With this type of structure, verbs take on a 3 part component, and what I mean by that is that there will be a time placement prefix (past,present, or future) + the verb root + what I call the Thoralya particle, (convergence particle), or POC (point of contact suffix) Which is a suffix that tells you if it was an action of person on person, person on animal, or person on an object. There are 10 of them, and they go like this :

time placement prefixes:

ad (past)  aved (present)  vju: or Vu (future)  followed by <,>

POC suffixes:

1) <,> person to me: (eth), person to another person (iith), person to animal or lower species (iidn), person to object (iissn)

2) <,> me to person (daa), me to animal (dav), me to object (davn) ( this structure doesnt need to identify that I am doing the action because the POC suffix does that for me.

3) <,> animal to me (diin), animal to another person (diign), animal to another animal or an object (diigneth)

There is no structure for object to anything since objects are not alive and thus cannot directly perform an action. I guess I should give a couple of examples…

Regular passive verb form: ‘ I welcomed him to the table’ Vii trabyalarriied agatheratiiev…’ or I welcome to (past tense) table+ locative suffix (iiev)…

Active Verb structure: ‘Yesterday he killed my wolf’ ‘naphed Vii,ssi valek ad, nathkalin,iidn hevo…’  or yesterday My wolf + future tense +kill+ person to animal POC he/him

or ‘today, I will kill the wolf’ ‘ja’hal valek vu,nathkalin, dav…’ or ‘today wolf future tense prefix+kill+Me to animal POC suffix, also Identiying me as the performer of the action.

You see, its pretty simple actually. Another cool part is that once a subject has been established, there is a shorter colloquial/abreviated response. For example of some asked me  ‘did you kill the wolf?’ ‘valek ad, nathkalin,iidn eyu veh’ I could simply say ‘ ad,dav’ or in the past+ me to animal POC suffix or simply ‘I did it.’ Its not overly complicated, but it does take some getting used to when trying to establish speed and fluency. Questions? Put themin the comment section below.  ‘do’hanaj ejhaalon, esh sethir,ii thalovn…’

©1996-2014 TMBacon/MB247/TheScribblersNook

 

 

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Kardak Verb Structures

    • As a matter of a fact I have looked at something similar recently, but since Kardak is not an earth based language, following ‘common’ formats is something I am tying to avoid. Thanks for the question.

      • OK, but you’re explaining your language to us Earthicans…so why not use a method that is Earthican-ish? If I came to you and tried to explain Chinese to you, in Chinese…you wouldn’t get it, would you?

      • True true, since I am Not a linguist and lack the explanatory structure that some may require, I will explain the best I can in layman’s terms for now. My ‘glossing'( which I had to google btw) will improve as I learn more about linguistics. I appreciate your patience.

Leave a Reply

